What's new

Building an Article Directory Website

petermeadit

Top Contributor
Just looking for some input form the forum as I have never done this before.

A client has approached me to build them and Article Directory Website. Simple to do the Article Directory Website itself. But I would like to know more about the SEO considerations and management of the submissions.

Like first thing comes to mind is low quality outbound links from articles, how will that effect the site and also the shared hosting?

Secondly, if you wanted to review each post, to ensure some quality for the articles on the site, how could that be done on a big scale, for a large number of submissions?

Your experience and opinions would be much appreciated.

Ashman

Top Contributor
That's a good question. To start I would implement a robust user registration system where you collect as much info about prospective users as possible. That way you at least get a good idea of the type of people using the system and can quickly eliminate possible spammers.

Low quality outbound links could be controlled by using a "no-follow" configuration or only allow plain text article submissions for some users until they reach a threshold of article submissions to show that they are genuine users.

In general I think someone would have to review all content manually to maintain the integrity of the site, similar to what Chris and the Admin's do here on DNT.

petermeadit

Top Contributor
That's a good question. To start I would implement a robust user registration system where you collect as much info about prospective users as possible. That way you at least get a good idea of the type of people using the system and can quickly eliminate possible spammers.

Low quality outbound links could be controlled by using a "no-follow" configuration or only allow plain text article submissions for some users until they reach a threshold of article submissions to show that they are genuine users.